Celiac Disease - Gluten Free Diet

A gluten free diet is required by those who suffer from Celiac disease. You may use this guide as a temporary reference to help you get started on a gluten free diet. Use the references at the end of the guide to find mo re information to help you establish a long term plan.

Allowed (gluten free)

Rice, corn, soy, potato, tapioca, bean, sorghum, quinoa, millet, buckwheat, arrowroot, amaranth, TEF and nut flours.


Carefully reading ingredient labels is critic al to understanding the gluten free diet. Food labels containing the following ingredients are questionable an d should not be consumed unless you can verify they do not contain or are derived from prohibited grains:

  • Brown rice syrup
  • Caramel color
  • Dextrin
  • Flour or cereal products
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Vegetable protein
  • Hydrolyzed plant protein
  • Textured vegetable protein
  • Malt or malt flavoring
  • Malt vinegar
  • Modified food starch or modifed starch from unspecified source
  • Monoglycerides (dry products only)
  • Di-glycerides (dry products only)
  • Flavorings in meat products
  • Soy sauce
  • Vegetable gum

Not allowed in any form:

Wheat (durum, semolina, kamut, spelt), rye, barley, oats and triticale.

Frequently overlooked foods that often contain gluten:

  • Breading
  • Broth
  • Coating mixes
  • Communion wafers
  • Croutons
  • Pastas
  • Processed meats
  • Roux
  • Sauces
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Imitation bacon
  • Imitation seafood
  • Marinades
  • Soup bases
  • Stuffings
  • Thickeners

If in doubt, go without!

If unable to verify ingredients or the ingredient list is unavailable DO NOT EAT IT! It's not worth triggering your immune system and the damage to the small intestine that occurs every time gluten is consumed, regardless of the amount eaten.

Simple Rules to Avoid Problems

  • One new food at a time. Only add one new food item whose ingredients you've cleared to your diet at a time. Listen to your body for adverse reactions before starting a second new food.
  • Wheat free is not Gluten-Free. Wheat free products may still contain rye, oats, barley or other ingredients that are not Gluten Free.
  • Prepare gluten free foods separately from other foods. Gluten free foods can be easily contaminated if they are pre pared on common surfaces, machinery, equipment or with utensils that have not been thoroughly cleaned.

Celiac Disease Foundation

13251 Ventura Blvd. Ste.1

Studio City, CA 91604-1838

Phone: (818) 990-2354


Email cdf@celiac.org

Gluten Intolerance Group

15110 10 Ave. SW, Ste A

Seattle, WA 98166-1820

Phone: (206) 246-6652

Gluten Intolerance Group

Email gig@gluten.net